Annual Accounting Awards Banquet - 2018

On April 30th, 2018, The Department of Acounting and Beta Alpha Psi held their 45th Annual Accounting Awards Banquet. Below are a few of the highlighted awards.

Terry Fergus Creates Endowed Chair PositionKeynote Speaker: Terry Fergus, CPA, PFS

Terry Fergus currently serves as the President of FSM Capital Management. He has more than 35 years of experience serving the financial needs of a broad array of clients. His specialties include insurance consulting; executive compensation; financial estate and retirement planning and qualified and non-qualified retirement plans. He frequently lectures to boards of directors, corporate executives and professional groups and has been quoted in scores of local, regional and national publications including the New York TimesWashington PostFinancial Times and the Chicago Tribune. He is a 1982 Accounting Alumnus. Read more about Terry Fergus here.


Kelli Bernstein

Alumna of the Year: Kelli Bernstein, CPA

Kelli is currently the Vice President of the Assurance Services Group at Meaden & Moore. Her main function is to oversee the firm's quality control. She is a key member of the firm's not-for-profit core group. She is involved with researching technical accounting issues and quality control procedures over financial reporting. Learn more about Kelli Bernstein here.


Peter PoznanskiLifetime Achievement Award - Honoring 27 Years of Service: Peter Poznanski, Ph.D., CFM, CMA, CPA

Peter Poznanski has been a faculty member in the Department of Accounting since 1991, teaching 14 different courses. He is extremely knowledgable about the areas of financial and managerial accounting and is able to cover these very complex subjects in structured and disciplined fashion.

For the past several years, he has dedicated his instructional expertise to exclusively teach the Intermediate Accounting I course. As most Accounting educators are aware, this course can be challenging for many, serving as the gateway for future professionals. Learn more about Peter Pozanski here.


Dr. Heidi MeierFaculty of the Year: Heidi Hylton Meier, Ph.D., CPA

In the 2017-2018 academic year, Dr. Heidi Meier, Professor of Accounting and Chair of the Accounting Department has been named a Fulbright scholar and Faculty of the Year by Beta Alpha Psi and the Accounting Association in their annual banquet. Dr. Meier received the 2016 Outstanding Ohio Accounting Educator award at the American Accounting Association Ohio regional meeting on Friday, April 8th. Learn more about Dr. Meier here.


Mary Janis (Jan) RosePart-time Faculty of the Year: Mary Janis Rose, MBA, CCMA, CPA

Mary Janis (Jan) Rose spent 20+ years in corporate America in retail, telecommunications and manufacturing industries preparing budgets, performing variance analysis, managing multi-million dollar projects and promoting EDI activities were the key managerial accounting activities in her last corporate position. She is the recipient of the 2018 part-time Faculty Award from the Department of Accounting and student organizations, Beta Alpha Psi and the Accounting Association. Learn more about Mary Janis Rose here.

Student Spotlights and Points of Pride:
  • Shane McGuckin: Rotary Award for Excellence in Accounting and Business Valedictorian
  • Erica Pizzolato: Federal of Schools of Accountancy Student Achievement Award
  • Celeste Gilbow: Financial Executives International Outstanding Financial Student
  • Zachary Keider: Institute of Management Accountants, Student Representative
  • Michael Kostandaras: Ohio Society of Certified Public Accountants Student Representative
  • Mercedes Hobbs: PCAOB Scholarship
  • Anastasia Puchkova: Parker Scholar and Intern
  • Alyse Souza and the Beta Alpha Psi Chapter at Cleveland State
  • Additional Scholarship Recipients Honored at the 2018 Banquet